NaNoWriMo Day 7: 10,750 words

Started writing early this morning, a few hundred words before I went out for a wet 7-mile run. Then it was off to a day in San Francisco with my friend down from Vancouver, and a performance of Beethoven’s string trios at Symphony Hall. Something about the music, the simplicity of three musicians on a stage built for an orchestra, the hall itself, made me come up with new ideas for the story I’m writing. I wrote myself an email at intermission with some of the ideas and questions/potential plot points. After a few days of struggling, I think I have a good direction now. Some of that shows in this excerpt, a bit different than the previous ones in tone and style.

The patient seems restless today, the tall man said to the woman standing beside him. Both of them were dressed in the light green tops and black pants that indicated they were top-level researchers with access to anyone and anything in the facility. They were observing someone now, discussing why the patient seemed agitated, with an elevated heart rate and REM movements that were off the chart.

It’s those kids running the sim board, the woman responded. They don’t follow instructions. They put whatever they want to on the sim, no matter what I put down on the therapy sheet.

I don’t care what they do as long as the patient remains calm and still. This thrashing around has the potential to cause a lot of damage. HIs voice rose with anger as he continued.

Make sure they understand that fact. We can’t afford any damage to our patients, especially this one.

The woman sighed as she moved towards the door.

Don’t worry, I’ll take care of it, she promised.

 

Leave a Reply

